RSS

MAKE A SCENE: CHRISTMAS [TOUCHPAD] – REVIEW (87%)

09 Dec

Make a scene: Christmas is an animated sticker book released by Innivo Ltd.

“Give your children the bumper Christmas edition of ‘Make a Scene’, and allow them to have fun making snowy scenes, decorating the tree, and playing with the elves. With all new ‘Thank you for my gift’ and ‘Merry Christmas’ borders, you can save the scenes to your device and then share them with family & friends.”

The application allow you to create a christmas scene using the animated “stickers” and backgrounds available.

As you place the sticker their name is read out allowed, then the sound effect. At the same time the stick will go through its animation. As you continue to add to the scene, the animal will animate at random times.

There are 7 backgrounds and 7 foregrounds to select from and a lot of stickers over 65 in all. The stickers are great for making the Christmas scenes with Santa, Christmas Tree decorations and toys.

The screen is uncluttered with only the top bar for adding the stickers and then three buttons at the base to allow the screen to be cleared or saved and to select a new background or foreground.

My only real negative on the app, and this is a small one really, is that you cannot resize the stickers manually, their size is based on the screen location, so if you are placing a candle for example in most scenes it is too big for the place it would need to go. My daughter wanted to but a teddy at the feet of the choir singer, but the teddy was almost as big as the girl. I know the developers are trying to keep it simple for the younger kids so maybe it is just me.

This app is aimed at the under fives, and as my daughter is four I gave it to her to test and watched the results before testing myself. I gave this one to both my kids to try and I did not get the Touchpad back for over an hour. Lots of images had been created and saved. Some of them where great and I would have liked to print them as Christmas cards.

The graphics and sounds are both very good, with Santa and the elves all wishing you a merry Christmas.

On the upside:

  • Nice artwork.
  • Easy to use interface.
  • Nice sound effects.

On the downside:

  • Would be nice to resize the stickers manually, rather than based on the position on the screen.
  • If you have kids, they will play this app a lot.

Overall, this is a great application and will keep younger kids very happy. This is a very timely app to get in the run up to Christmas. My kids loved it, even my son who is eight. Even I enjoyed using this app. The foreground and backgrounds are a nice touch. Basically, if you have young kids you need to get this app.

Rating: 87%

Size: 46.1 MB

Price (at time of review): £1.49

Link: Make A Scene: Christmas – Innivo Ltd

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 9, 2011 in App - Childrens, Reviews, Touchpad, webOS

 

Comments are closed.

 
