RSS

OUCH MY BROADBAND HURTS [SOAPBOX]

14 Mar

Ouch my broadband hurts…

Since the release of iOS 4.3 and the release of the iPad 2 my broadband has been very busy indeed.

In the last week I have downloaded the iOS 4.3 patch three times (iPad, iPhone and iPod versions)

Then there have been several developers that have released software fixes for issues for iOS 4.3.

Now we are getting updates of games from the better graphics in the iPad 2 (Asphalt 6, Dead Space, Infinity Blade and Real Racing 2 HD)

From my logs I have downloaded more than 12 GB in one week from iTunes alone.

Needless to say as I software reviewer I have more applications than most, but I am not alone, my cousin has two apple devices and a fair amount of software, and I have worked out that he has downloaded over 6 GB this week. He, unlike myself, has a 10 GB cap on his broadband downloads, and has got a warning email from his broadband company that he is within 3 GB of the cap, and the email arrived on the 12th March.

Needless to say, he had to ring the broadband provider, and has now decided to upgrade to the next plan up costing him another £5 a month.

Clearly iOS upgrades do not happen every day, but one thing is for sure, the iPhone 5 and iOS 5 are very likely in June, and this one is going to be a biggy. It may be worthwhile now looking at your own broadband packages to see if you are ready for this release.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 14, 2011 in Article, Soapbox

 

Comments are closed.

 
